Search This Blog

Friday, October 14, 2016

Johann Simon Mayr, Overtures, Franz Hauk

Who is Johann Simon Mayr (1763-1845)? Naxos is providing the answer in a series of releases. We've covered an opera here (look it up) and today we have some of his Overtures (Naxos 8.573484) with Franz Hauk conducting the Bavarian Classical Players, Concerto de Bassus, or I Virtuosi Italiani.

Mayr was Bavarian born, did most of his composing in Italy, and for these overtures manages to synthesize Mozart and Beethoven with Rossini, in a most pleasant, well-crafted and even inspired way.

The music has a jaunty aura about it, firmly classical with a bit of the changing winds of Beethoven. Mayr shows us he is unworthy of the years of neglect that has been his lot.

These are well-played and charming. If you seek something ear opening and fun from the period, this fits the bill nicely.

No comments:

Post a Comment